Introduction to athletics – through fun to competition 

Introduction to athletics – through fun to competition 

Origins 

Origins 

Athletics is a group of events that includes running, jumping, throwing and walking. Its origins stretch back as far as the ancient Olympic Games of 776 BC. The format and rules of the sport as we now know it were defined in the 19th and early 20th century, over one hundred years ago. 

Benefits 

Benefits 

Although athletics, in general, is a competitive sport, training to participate in events brings its own benefits in terms of fitness, sporting prowess and well-being.  
 
Many people who take part in athletics training does so for either the pleasure it gives or to prepare them to take part in other sports such as rugby. 

Competition 

Competition 

Dorchester Athletic Club as its name suggests provides training and competition in most elements of athletics. Our range of league competition includes track and field, Quadkids, sportshall and cross-country. 

Fun to competition 

Fun to competition 

We welcome members of all ages from nine upwards irrespective of their ability. Our core aim is to make athletics fun but, as a competitive club, we also do our best to encourage our members to take advantage of the many competitive opportunities we provide. 

Competition 

Competition 

Dorchester AC currently competes in three track and field leagues, including one under the Team Dorset banner, one sports hall league and one cross-country league. Dorchester AC compete in our traditional green vests with yellow side stripe whilst the Team Dorset vest is sky blue. 

Dorchester AC Fixtures 2024 - 2025 

Dorchester AC Fixtures 2024 - 2025 

Track and Field 2024 Season 
Date 
Competition 
Venue 
Sunday, 24th March 
Bournemouth Spring Open 
Bournemouth 
Saturday, 6th April 
John Gregory Memorial Meeting (Poole AC) 
Ashdown 
Saturday, 20th April 
Youth Development League Lower Age Group 
Bournemouth 
Sunday, 28th April 
Wessex Young Athletes Track & Field League 
Southampton 
Sunday, 5th May 
South West Athletics League 
Exeter 
Sunday, 12th May (TBC) 
Dorset County Track and Field Championships 
Bournemouth 
Sunday, 19th May 
Youth Development League Lower Age Group 
Southampton 
Sunday, 2nd June 
South West Athletics League 
Exeter 
Saturday, 8th June 
Dorset Schools Track and Field Championships 
Bournemouth 
Sunday, 9th June 
Wessex Young Athletes Track & Field League 
Swindon 
Saturday, 15th June 
South West Schools Track and Field Championships 
Exeter 
Sunday, 16th June 
Youth Development League Lower Age Group 
Portsmouth 
Saturday, 22nd June 
South West Combined Events Championships 
Yeovil 
Sunday, 23rd June 
South West Combined Events Championships 
Yeovil 
Sunday, 23 June 
Wessex Young Athletes Track & Field League 
Poole 
Sunday, 30th June 
South West Athletics League 
Exeter 
Sunday, 7th July 
Wessex Young Athletes Track & Field League 
Salisbury 
Friday, 12th July 
English Schools Track and Field Championships (TBC) 
Birmingham 
Saturday, 13th July 
English Schools Track and Field Championships (TBC) 
Birmingham 
Sunday, 21st July 
Youth Development League Lower Age Group 
Guildford (TBC) 
Sunday, 28th July 
South West Inter-Counties Championships 
Exeter 
Sunday,1st September 
South West Athletics League 
Exeter 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings